Murray on Djokovic loss: I was surprised, his record speaks for itself

Three-time Grand Slam champion Andy Murray says Novak Djokovic’s crushing defeat to world No 117 Denis Istomin is a surprise as the Serb is a six-time Australian Open champion.

Murray progressed to the fourth round on Friday January 20 after blitzing American Sam Querrey in straight sets 6-4 6-2 6-4 on Hisense Arena.

f_20012017_murray_50
Murray breezed into the fourth round where he will meet German Mischa Zverev

The five-time Australian Open finalist dispatched Querrey a minute shy of two hours at Melbourne Park – only seven months prior at Wimbledon, the big-serving American beat former world No 1 Novak Djokovic in four-sets.

With Djokovic now an unusual absentee from week two in Melbourne, Murray says he’s as shocked as everyone after Istomin’s historic win, but the Brit isn’t taking anything for granted.

“Yeah I was obviously surprised,” the 29-year-old said. “You know, Novak’s record here speaks for itself. He’s had incredible success here over the years, he obviously loves the conditions.”

f_19012017_istomin_03
Murray admits Djokovic loss won’t matter unless he progresses to next Sunday’s final

“For me, it doesn’t change anything unless I was to potentially reach the final because I can’t play Novak in the fourth round, or the third round.

“No worry about that really, you know obviously If I were to get to the final and then it has an effect, you know a lot of the times I’ve been in the final I’ve played against him.”

Murray added: “I’ve had some tough ones but I wasn’t scheduled to play Novak today so my job is to concentrate on Sam [Querrey] and to go into the match with a clear head and game plan and try to play well, and I did that.”

f_20012017_murray_53
The world No 1 says his focus remained on Sam Querrey, nothing else

Asked whether he watched and lived every point of Istomin’s stunning victory, Murray said: “I saw like three or four points really, so I don’t know exactly what happened.”

After three straight-set wins in remarkably different weather conditions  – Murray kicked off chasing his fourth Grand Slam in the blistering afternoon heat against Marchenko, then demolished Rublev on a humid, but bearable evening, and made short work of Querrey in breezy, overcast conditions, he now faces Mischa Zverev in the fourth round.

The 29-year-old German – ranked No 50 in the world, beat Malek Jaziri in four sets 6-1 4-6 6-3 6-0 to challenge Murray for a place in the quarterfinals.

2006391-42123316-640-360
Unseeded Mischa Zverev next up for Murray

The world No 1 showed exceptional court coverage during the two hours on Hisense Arena, dispatching a total of 23 out of 27 net points.

Now the red-hot favourite to win the Australian Open that’s eluded him for so long, Murray is noticing considerable improvements with each match he plays.

“I think I’ve played a little better each match,” he said. “[But] there’s not been one thing I’ve been delighted with. I thought I moved much better today than I did in the first two matches which was really positive for me.

f_20012017_murray_07
Murray says his movement and overall game are improving each match

“Each match I’ve improved a little bit, so hopefully that’s a good sign and I keep getting better.”

Leave a Reply

