Khan wants Brook to face Spence Jr before their long-awaited showdown

Two-time world champion, Amir Khan, has stated his desire to finally settle the increasingly bitter rivalry with Kell Brook, but urges the Sheffield star to face his mandatory first.

Khan hopes to be involved in two fights during 2017 after a successful hand operation – Brook being one of his opponents.

The 30-year-old expressed his concern for Brook not yet agreeing to defend his world title against the highly thought of American, Errol Spence Jr.

“I find that quite sad, being a world champion and holding the IBF title and then giving it up because you don’t want to fight your mandatory, I think that’s just quite soft and sad to see in boxing,” Khan said.

i-2
Spence Jr remains an ever-present threat to all 147lb titleholders in 2017

“If a fight happens between me and him, it happens. But look, I want to fight him, I want to put things straight.”

Errol Spence Jr continues to gain momentum and notoriety within boxing, most notably after brutally stopping Chris Algieri in April 2016 inside five rounds.

Khan fought Algieri 11 months earlier, labouring to a points win over the American, and the Bolton-born fighter admitted Spence Jr is ‘destined for greatness.’

“I think Errol Spence is a great fighter,” Khan said. “He’s a young, hungry fighter who wants to be the best, [he’s] destined for greatness.

“He is making a lot of noise and doing great things in boxing. I have a lot of respect for him, I think he’s a good fighter.”

Speaking on Brook’s loss to undefeated Kazakh juggernaut, Gennady Golovkin, Khan remained reluctant to give his rival at 147lbs any praise.

screen-shot-2017-01-03-at-21-20-29
Brook set to return at 147lbs after unsuccessful attempt against Golovkin at middleweight

“If all these people are saying give him a lot of credit for fighting triple G, but maybe he knew he was going to get beat, and he knew no one was going to say anything bad about that fight.”

Khan’s last performance in May 2016 ended rather worryingly as Canelo Alvarez landed a thumping overhand right in round six which resulted in a KO win for the Mexican.

With potential matchups to be made against the winner of Danny Garcia and Keith Thurman – the pair meet on March 4 in New York, or from a British perspective – Kell Brook, the Bolton welterweight admits he still has a lot left in the tank, and addressed Canelo as one of the best.

33f1afa500000578-0-image-a-10_1462678410855
Khan is certain there’s plenty more to get excited about after reflecting on his loss to Canelo

“I’m only 30. I’m still active, I’m young, I’m still hungry. I’ve got some great fights ahead of me,” Khan said.

“I tested the waters and I went up a weight. I got beat off one of the best pound for pound fighters in the world, in my opinion. I think Canelo’s a great fighter, and I give him a lot of respect for that.”

Leave a Reply

